I had to do it

Because we didn’t do much last night, I finally caught up on a little bit of sleep, but I felt a little sick when I woke up. I am not going to let a cold stop me from doing things here in China that I might never be able to do again. We left for the Bird’s Nest at 9:30 and got stuck in a tree on the way there. The bus was a little too big for the road we tried to go down, and the bus caught a little bit of the treetop. That was a fun little adventure, because we had to back up on a one way road to get out of the tree. We finally got to the Bird’s Nest and it was much bigger up close than any of us had realized. The architecture of it was really cool. There were steel beams in every direction to give it the shape of an actual bird’s nest. The stadium itself was a little smaller than I had anticipated, but they were in the middle of doing something to the turf, so that might have been why. They had pictures of the athletes lining columns around the stadium, so naturally I had to get a picture of the Usain Bolt picture. We went down to the bottom of the stadium to find that they had segways that you could rent to go around the track. I thought the idea was all too cool, so I tad to try it. Vivien got us a ready good deal on group tickets just by bargaining with them. So most of us segwayed around the track of the Bird’s Nest. After that, we went outside to get a group picture with the Bird’s Nest in the background and one with the Watercube in the background. We were a little rushed again today, so we had to grab a quick lunch and get ready to go to our company visit at CapitalBio which is a company that specializes in designing and selling microarray imaging machines. These machines run many different tests on cell samples to get information on DNA, mRNA protein expression, cell structure, etc. Initially, I thought CapitalBio would have a market in all areas of bioengineering, but it turned out to be smaller than I expected. The building was very nice, and it had a garden in the back that was really quiet and peaceful. They also had thousands of stem cell samples from bone marrow donors to collect and analyze data from so they could easily match samples to patients in need. I asked a lot of questions to satisfy my curiosity of what exactly CapitalBio did in the field of bioengineering. After that, we went back to the hotel and changed to get ready to go to a kungfu show. The show had a pretty cliché story, but I didn’t go for the story. The kungfu was really cool. They had all the different animal styles like leopard, scorpion, mantis, monkey, and snake (it reminded me a lot of kungfu panda). Frankly, I wish I could do any of that. After the kungfu show, we rode the subway home, and everyone was exhausted, so we all pretty much just crashed in our rooms.